News From\_

For Immediate Release

Contact: Mike Serpe

202-225-3452

Washington D.C. --- Fourth District Congressman Nick Rahall has announced the process West Virginia residents should follow if they wish to obtain flood disaster insurance.

"It is inevitable we are going to have some flooding, but by providing this information, I am hopeful that many of those living in the danger areas will be prepared," Congressman Rahall said.

Rahall released information dealing with the National Flood Insurance Program, that was enacted by Congress in 1973 as a means of making flood insurance available at reasonable rates through a joint Government-industry program, within communities that meet eligibility requirements. (Communities that meet the requirements in the Fourth District, are listed on the attached page.)

Rahall pointed out that the program is highly subsidized, but "the present limits of coverage under the Emergency Program are \$35,000 on single family dwellings and \$100,000 on all other types of buildings, with \$10,000 per unit available for residential contents, and \$100,000 per building available for non-residential contents."

Limits of coverage under the Regular Program, (communities marked with an "R" on the attached page), are double the amounts given above.

Congressman Rahall stated, "Applications for flood insurance policies may be obtained from any insurance agent or broker licensed to sell property or casualty insurance in the eligible community."

The Congressman went on to say, "If a resident of an eligible community has difficulty in obtaining an insurance application, they should contact: U.S. Fidelity & Guaranty Company, 3324 McCorkle Ave., S.E., Charleston, WV, 25304. The telephone is: 304-344-1692."

-MORE-

## U.S. Department of Housing and Urban Development Communities Participating in the National Flood Insurance Program as of December 31, 1976

CABELL COUNTY		MINGO COUNTY	
Barboursville Milton Huntington LOGAN COUNTY		Delbarton Gilbert Kermit Matewan Williamson	(R)
Chapmanville Logan Man Mitchell Hts. West Logan	(R) (R) (R) (R) (R)	RALEIGH COUNTY  Beckley Lester Sophia Rhodell	
MC:DOWELL COUNTY			
Anawalt Davy Gary Iaeger Keystone Kimball		WAYNE COUNTY  Ceredo Ft. Gay  Kenova  Wayne	t . •.
Northfork War Welch		WYOMING COUNTY Mullens	21
MERCER COUNTY		Oceana Pineville	
Bluefield Bramwell Matoaka Oakvale Princeton			<b>n</b> -1

<sup>(</sup>R) Designates community eligible for double coverage.